Three European countries recognized Palestinian independence


Three European countries recognized Palestinian independence

Norway, Ireland and Spain announced recognition of Palestinian independence. Norwegian Prime Minister Jonas Gahr Støre said the decision would take effect on May 28. Irish Prime Minister Simon Harris and Spanish Prime Minister Pedro Sanchez made similar statements. The moves strengthen international support for Palestine, which is already recognized by more than 130 of the 193 UN member states, including Russia and China.

The decision to recognize Palestine caused a sharp reaction from Israel. According to AFP, Israel plans to recall its ambassadors from Norway and Ireland in response to these actions. The Israeli government considers such steps to threaten the peace negotiation process and undermine stability in the region.

The recognition of Palestine by these European countries has become an important diplomatic event that could change the balance of power in the international arena and increase pressure on Israel to resolve the Palestinian-Israeli conflict.



Blog and articles